历程 | Audinate

历程

如今,Audinate 与其打造的 Dante 平台已经成为 AV - IT 技术融合的核心。

公司概况

Audinate 是全球领先的专业数字网络音频技术供应商。Audinate 的 Dante 平台通过计算机网络分发数字音频信号,旨在为专业的视听行业提供 IT 联网的便利。使用启用 Dante 的产品可确保音频设备之间的互操作性,并使终端用户能够享受到高质量、灵活的解决方案——通常设备总成本更低。

Audinate 品牌故事

在技术诞生的历史长河当中,有着许许多多位创新天才和公司,正是他们的伟大贡献塑造了我们的现代世界。在这些创新当中,又有少数出类拔萃的人才成功创造了历史,从真正意义上革新了既定的标准。

Audinate 的诞生也是这样一个重新塑造标准的故事。在短短的数年间,公司的 Dante 技术已经永远地改变了专业音频的局面,对固定系统、现场再到录音棚录音等诸多领域造成了深远的影响。

公司的萌芽起源于澳大利亚悉尼,原本是一个为摩托罗拉研究实验室设计新技术的工程师团队。摩托罗拉于 2003 年关闭了该设施,但团队的一些成员留了下来,并获得了澳大利亚国家信息和通信技术安全局 (NICTA) 的支持。这是一家旨在催生创新技术并借此推动澳大利亚工业发展的政府研究机构。

联合创始人兼首席技术官 Aidan Williams 在音乐领域的兴趣 引领了新公司的发展方向。 但他凭借一个 IT 专业人士的经验,另辟蹊径,让 Audinate 走上了创新的道路。

“我不断尝试将我的合成器连接到调音台、连接到声卡、MIDI 线,尝试各种不同的连接,”他回忆道。“对我来说,这更像是一个联网问题。为什么要用这么多不一样的接口,而不是将它们全部集成到一个网络上呢?”

因此,从 2003 年开始,他们经过多年的研究和无数个小时的改进,终于开发出了创新的联网技术 Dante , 彻底解决了通过极低网络延时传输紧密同步音频 的难题。 Audinate 还以创新方式简化 了网络设置,创造了一个直观且 易于配置的用户界面。

2006 年,NICTA 看到了这种技术的潜力,并决定将公司 从 NICTA 分拆出来,将突破性的 Dante 网络音频 技术推向市场。 联合创始人 David Myers(现 Audinate 首席运营官)加入到 Williams 和开发团队当中,建立了 Audinate。

团队早期得到了传奇音频领军人、杜比实验室的现场音响事业部副总裁 Bruce Jackson 的声援。在 Jackson 的支持下,Dolby Lake 处理器成为首款配备 Dante 的专业音频设备,并且在 2008 年华盛顿特区的芭芭拉史翠珊节目中首次亮相。

Lee Ellison 于 2008 年出任 Audinate 的首席执行官,推动了 Dante 的 商业化和普及,并在美国 俄勒冈州波特兰开设了公司总部。

2011 年,Audinate 将业务扩展到欧洲。

经过加速增长的阶段之后,Dante 在几次 大型关键活动当中发挥了举足轻重的作用,包括 2010 年温哥华冬奥会的诸多场馆 、教皇在悉尼世界青年节上的亮相,还有 女王在伦敦银禧音乐会上的发言等。 世界各地的 多个主要场馆均采用了 Dante 设计。 到 2012 年,最领先的专业音频品牌大部分都已在其旗舰产品中采用了 Dante 技术,包括雅马哈商用音频、博世通讯系统、哈曼、Extron、舒尔、Lab.Gruppen、百威 MediaMatrix、Allen & Heath、思美、Midas 等等。

截至 2014 年底,已有 170 多家制造商与 Audinate 合作,Dante一跃成为市场领导者,确立了其事实标准地位。紧接着第二年,德勤将 Audinate 列为澳大利亚科技成长进步最快 50 强之一、亚太地区 500 强之一,高度肯定了其卓越和快速的增长。

Dante 的应用范围迅速扩展,从 纳什维尔 LP 球场 到伦敦 奥林匹克游泳中心等大型场馆的固定系统,到 Pope Francis、Paul McCartney、Bruce Springsteen、 Elton John、Bob Dylan、Kenny Chesney、Foo Fighters、The Killers 等的大型演出等等,都能见到其踪影。 Dante 已经 成为了商业安装 系统、现场演出、广播、教堂、企业系统、 专业录音、运输等等数字媒体联网的首选解决方案。 随着技术的不断 加速发展,有一件事是肯定的: Audinate 将继续 革新音频领域的未来。

2015

截至 2015 年底,有 250 多家企业与 Audinate 签订了许可协议,启用 Dante 的产品数量已经超过了 675 个。Audinate 在十一月推出了 Dante Via 软件,让用户能够在 Dante 网络中单独添加电脑软件应用程序和本地连接的硬件输入和输出,极大增加了 Dante 网络音频的利用率。只要网络上有任何启用了 Dante 的硬件,Dante Via 可以就在多台计算机之间建立 Dante 网络。

Audinate 也在香港开设了其第一个亚太地区办事处。

2016

2016年,Audinate 持续增长。到年底,获得 Dante 技术授权的品牌已接近 350 个。市场上已有 159 个品牌的 950 多款产品启用了 Dante 技术。Audinate 推出了一款名为 Dante Analog Output Module 的新款硬件产品。该产品为生产价格较低的适配器打开了大门——这种适配器可以让音频专业人士轻松地将自己的传统模拟设备(如扬声器和扩音器)连接到 Dante 网络。2016 年 9 月,位于波特兰的 Audinate 美国总部搬到了该市面积更大的场地,以容纳增长的员工人数,并为 Dante 用户建立了现场培训设施。

2017

发布了三件 主要产品的 2017 年 是至关重要的一年。为用户提供 Dante 网络高级管理的基于服务器的软件 Dante Domain Manager, 于 2017 年在荷兰的 ISE 欧洲专业视听集成设备与技术展上预先亮相。 Dante Domain Manager 为视听体验带来了最佳的 IT 实践,使音频联网比以往更加安全、更易扩展、更好控制。 此外,我们还发布了 Dante Broadway ,制造商可以将这款 新型芯片 加入自己的产品,以惊人的性价比为中等通道数应用提供 Dante 联网。 这款产品是 小型调音台、功放和会议解决方案等产品的理想之选。 最后,在 2017 年 12 月,Audinate 正式 推出了  Dante IP Core,这是一套面向音频制造商的 IP 软核解决方案。 OEM 可以根据此方案,使用基于 FPGA 的设计,以前所未有的低成本和极大的适应性将 Dante 音频连接功能加入音频视频产品。

2018

2018 年强势开局,精彩收尾,首先,我们 推出了=  Dante AVIO Adapter, 这组高性价比的终端适配器可以让音频专业人员轻松地将传统模拟设备和数字音频设备连接至 Dante 网络。 适配器于五月开始发货。 早在第一季度,Audinate 就正式推出了  Dante Domain Manager,包括强大的全球分销商渠道以及已更新了最新固件的 400 多款采用 Dante 的产品,为加入 Dante Domain Manager 做好了准备。 2018 年 9 月,Audinate 迅速推出了  Dante Adapter Module,该产品旨在生产成本低、体积小、带有制造商品牌的 Dante 音频适配器和低通道数的音频设备。 Audinate 还展示了其音频联网培训机的显著增长,扩大了 其 在线 培训计划,包括高级(三级)Dante 认证培训,为有兴趣创建和维护高级 Dante 系统的用户提供培训。

2019

由于我们已经在上半年发布了三种主要产品,预计 2019 年 Audinate 将再次出现惊人 增长。于 2019 年 3 月在 ISE 上发布,并在 Enterprise Connect 上首次亮相的 Dante AV, 是为制造商提供的首个网络音频视频集成解决方案。 Dante AV 是一套完整的集成视听网络解决方案,可自动发现设备、易于使用和集成控制这些能为视频带来的优势,使 Dante 成为了市场领先的音频网络解决方案。 在 2019 年 6 月的 InfoComm 发布会上,Audinate 发布了两款面向制造商和开发者的“Dante 嵌入式软件类”产品: Dante Embedded Platform  和  Dante Application Library 。制造商可通过 Dante Embedded Platform™ 在 x86 和 ARM 处理器的 Linux 上运行的软件中添加完整的 Dante 功能。 软件开发人员可以用 Dante Application Library™ 将 Dante 功能直接无缝集成至自己的 PC 和 Mac 应用程序中。 主要客户包括Analog Devices、QSC 和 Zoom。 此外,Dante 生态系统仍在继续发展,目前市场上 已有  2,000 多种启用 Dante 的产品。

History | Audinate | Dante AV Networking

History

Today, Audinate is at the heart of the AV - IT convergence with Dante.

Company Overview

Audinate is the leading provider of professional digital audio networking technologies globally. Audinate's Dante platform distributes digital audio signals over computer networks, and is designed to bring the benefits of IT networking to the professional AV industry.  Using Dante-enabled products ensures interoperability between audio devices and allows end users to enjoy high quality, flexible solutions—typically with a lower total cost of ownership.

Audinate's Story

The timeline of technology is dotted with a lengthy list of innovative people and companies whose contributions have helped to shape our modern world. Far shorter is the list of those whose creations have marked a fundamental shift — truly redefining the accepted paradigm.

The story of Audinate is the story of just such a game changer. In just a few short years, the company’s Dante technology has forever altered the face of professional audio, from installed systems to live sound to studio recording and beyond.

The seeds of the company were sown in Sydney, Australia, where a small team of engineers was designing new technologies for Motorola Research Labs. Motorola shuttered the facility in 2003, but a few members of the team stayed together, securing backing from the National Information and Communications Technology of Australia (NICTA), a government research institute whose goal is to spawn innovative technology to benefit the growth of industry in Australia.

It was Co-Founder and Chief Technology Officer Aidan Williams’ interest in music that sparked the new company’s direction. But it was his approach to it as an IT professional that would forge Audinate’s path via a road less traveled.

“I was constantly connecting my synth to a mixer, to a sound card, MIDI cables, all sorts of different connections,” he recalls. “To me, it seemed like a networking problem. Why make all those different connections when you could integrate it into a single network?”

Thus, 2003 began years and countless hours of refining what would become Dante — an innovative networking technology that solved the challenges of delivering tightly-synchronized audio with ultra low network latency. Audinate took a novel approach to simplifying network set-up as well, creating an intuitive and easy-to-configure user interface.

In 2006, NICTA could see the potential of this technology and decided to spin-out the company from NICTA, to commercialize its ground-breaking Dante audio networking technology. David Myers, Co-Founder now the Chief Operating Officer of Audinate joined Williams and the development team to form Audinate.

The team found an early advocate in legendary audio pioneer Bruce Jackson, Vice President of Dolby Labs’ Live Sound Division. With Jackson’s support, the Dolby Lake Processor became the first Dante-equipped professional audio device, making its auspicious debut at a Barbra Streisand show in Washington, DC in 2008.

Lee Ellison joined Audinate in 2008 as Chief Executive Officer, to drive the commercialization and adoption of Dante, and the company opened a US headquarters in Portland, OR.

In 2011, Audinate expanded with European Operations in 2011.

A period of accelerated growth ensued, with Dante playing a pivotal role in several high-profile, mission-critical events, including multiple venues of the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver, The Pope’s appearance at Sydney World Youth Day, and the Queen’s Jubilee Concert in London. Dante was designed into several major stadiums throughout the world. By 2012, most of the leading pro audio brands had embraced Dante technology in their flagship products, including Yamaha Commercial Audio, Bosch Communications Systems, Harman, Extron, Shure, Lab.Gruppen, Peavey MediaMatrix, Allen & Heath, Symetrix, Midas, and more.

By the end of 2014, more than 170 manufacturers have partnered with Audinate, catapulting Dante into the position of market leader and de facto standard. For the second year in a row, Deloitte named Audinate to the top tier of their Technology Fast 50 for Australia and Fast 500 for Asia Pacific, a nod to those companies who have shown exceptional and rapid growth.

The list of applications where Dante can be found has grown exponentially, from installed systems in such high-profile locations as Nashville’s LP Field and the London Olympic Aquatics Center, to major events by Pope Francis, Paul McCartney, Bruce Springsteen, Elton John, Bob Dylan, Kenny Chesney, Foo Fighters, The Killers, and more. Dante has become the digital media networking solution of choice in commercial installed systems, live sound, broadcasting, houses of worship, corporate systems, professional recording, transportation, and beyond. And while technology continues to grow at an ever-accelerating pace, one thing is certain: Audinate will continue to revolutionize the future of audio.

Over 250 companies had signed license agreements with Audinate by the end of 2015, and the number of Dante-enabled products had surpassed 675. Audinate launched Dante Via software in November, dramatically increasing the opportunities to utilize Dante audio networking by allowing users to individually add computer software application and locally-connected hardware inputs and outputs to a Dante network. Dante Via also allows the creation of a Dante network between multiple computers requiring there to be any Dante-enabled hardware on the network.

Audinate opened an office in Hong Kong - its first in Asia.

2016

2016 showed continued growth for Audinate. By the end of the year, the number of brands licensing Dante technology had reached nearly 350. Over 950 Dante-enabled products representing 159 brands were on the market. Audinate launched a new hardware product called the Dante Analog Output Module. This product opened the door to the manufacture of lower-priced adapters--adapters that allow audio professionals to easily connect their legacy analog devices such as speakers and amplifiers to a Dante network. In September of 2016, the Audinate US headquarters in Portland moved to a larger location within the city to accommodate employee growth and to build an in-person training facility for Dante users.

2017

2017 turned out to be a pivotal year, with three major product announcements. Dante Domain Manager, server-based software that provides users advanced management for Dante networks, was previewed at ISE 2017 in the Netherlands. Dante Domain Manager brings IT best practices to AV, making audio networking more secure, more scalable and more controllable than ever before. In addition, Dante Broadway was announced, a new chip for manufacturers to include in their products that delivers Dante networking for medium channel-count applications at a breakthrough price-to-performance ratio. It is ideal for small mixers, power amplifiers and conferencing solutions. Finally, in December 2017, Audinate announced the availability of Dante IP Core, a soft IP solution for audio manufacturers. It allows OEMs working with FPGA-based designs to add Dante audio connectivity to AV products at a lower cost and with greater flexibility than ever before.

2018

2018 started and ended strong, beginning with the announcement of Dante AVIO Adapters, a family of cost-effective endpoint adapters that enable audio professionals to easily connect legacy analog and digital audio equipment to Dante networks. The adapters began shipping in May. Early in Q1, Audinate announced the commercial availability of Dante Domain Manager, including a robust global reseller channel and over 400 Dante-enabled products updated with the latest firmware to be Dante Domain Manager-ready. In September of 2018, Audinate announced the immediate availability of Dante Adapter Modules, designed for the production of cost-effective, compact, manufacturer-branded Dante audio adapters and low-channel count audio devices. Audinate also demonstrated significant growth in its audio networking training machine by expanding their online training program to include advanced (Level 3) Dante Certification training for users interested in creating and maintaining advanced Dante systems.

2019

2019 is projected to be another incredible year of growth for Audinate, with three major products already announced in the first half. Dante AV, a first-of-its-kind integrated audio and video-over-IP solution for manufacturers, was announced at ISE 2019 and debuted at Enterprise Connect in March. Dante AV is a complete integrated audio and video networking solution, bringing to video all the benefits that have made Dante the market-leading audio over IP solution: discovery, ease of use and integrated control. At InfoComm 2019 in June, Audinate announced two Dante-as-Software products for manufacturers and developers: Dante Embedded Platform and Dante Application Library. Dante Embedded Platform™ enables manufacturers to add full Dante functionality in software running on Linux for x86 and ARM processors. The Dante Application Library™ allows software developers to seamlessly integrate Dante functionality directly into their PC & Mac applications. Lead customers include Analog Devices, QSC and Zoom. Furthermore, the Dante ecosystem continues to grow, with over 2,000 Dante-enabled products now available on the market.