加州浸会大学:使用 Dante 进行扩展以满足广泛的音频联网需求 | Audinate

加州浸会大学:使用 Dante 进行扩展以满足广泛的音频联网需求

加州浸会大学,美国加利福尼亚州,河滨

加州浸会大学(CBU)是南加州顶尖的私立基督教学院和大学之一。加州浸会大学拥有近 11,000 名学生,在河滨校区、圣贝纳迪诺校区以及通过在线课程提供学士、硕士和证书课程。占地 160 英亩的主校区由 30 多栋建筑组成,包括占地 95,000 平方英尺的尤金和比利•耶格尔中心、270 个座位的华莱士剧院以及乔安•霍金斯音乐大楼,这是美国最先进的音乐制作和录音设施之一。

加州浸会大学的大量基于音视频网络的音响系统用于 支持所有类型的演讲,包括支持学校 校长和贵宾演讲、教堂服务、体育赛事和 当然,还包括音乐和艺术表演。

由于这些关键用途,学校不断寻找方法,在整个校园内轻松安全地共享和管理音频内容,进而改善学生体验。对于加州浸会大学,音视频解决方案最终采用了基于 IT 的解决方案。

音视频采用了 IT 方式

加州浸会大学 IT 团队最近帮助规划和开放了 5,000 个新座位, 153,000 平方英尺的活动中心,以及为跟上不断 扩增的校园,也重建和翻新了许多学校的 剧院和表演音乐系统,包括整个校园的 大多数普通扬声器系统。

乔•韦博士,CTS,加州浸会大学多媒体和信息技术服务总监 解释说,大学的整个校园现在总共有近 600 个音视频空间。韦博士还说,成功设置这些 空间的关键部分是由 Audinate 提供的Dante。

Dante 是一个完整的媒体网络解决方案和 数字媒体网络的实际标准。Dante 通过标准以太网网络分配未压缩 多通道数字媒体,且具有 接近零延迟和完美同步特性。它能够通过标准以太网网络 ——与用于家庭或办公室数据网络相同的网络 分配数字音频。事实上,Dante 的设计允许 音频、控制和所有其他数据可在同一 网络上有效共存。

除了无与伦比的音频质量外,Dante 还提供超低 延迟和近乎完美的同步。Dante 的直观用户 接口和网络管理功能甚至支持快速和轻松地 设置和配置最复杂的网络,从而简化 系统集成。

“我们有很多 Dante 设备,因为我们是一个大的 表演学校,”韦博士说。“但使用 Dante——特别是 Dante Domain Manager, 确实为整个校园带来了很大的变化。”

Dante Domain Manager 是网络管理软件,可为 Dante 网络提供用户身份验证、基于角色的安全性和审核功能,同时允许 Dante 系统在任何网络基础架构上无缝扩展。 Dante Domain Manager 将网络组织到名为"域"的区域中,每个区域都有单独的访问要求,这样可以清晰且容易地知道谁可以访问系统的哪个区域。 所有活动均被记录、标记和加上日期戳,以便快速识别和解决问题。
在过去几年中,加州浸会大学设施经历了显著增长。 校园内有一个强大的光纤网络主干,在各个建筑物和交换机之间运行,其最长的铜缆通道不超过 100 英尺。 高质量、高带宽的基础设施使团队能够将一系列系统联机。 学校主校区与另一个设施之间还有一个实时音频网络,距离六英里远,零问题和零延迟。

目前,韦博士和他的 IT 经理,以及十几个学生 工作人员利用 Dante Domain Manager 管理 115 个不同的节点。甚至 这样一个广泛的网络还有更多的领域需要覆盖。该 团队的目标是将每个音视频空间和每个教室加入到音视频 网络,并使用 Dante Domain Manager 管理可能的一切。

Dante AVIO 使适配变得容易

韦博士还在学校的音响系统中 使用了超过 100 个 Dante AVIO 适配器。可用于模拟输入或输出,适用于 AES3 和 USB 转换,Dante AVIO 适配器允许用户连接他们最喜欢的 带任何 Dante 连接系统的音频设备,提供 只有网络才能实现的互操作性、高性能和 可扩展性等特点。经济高效且紧凑,Dante AVIO 适配器提供 每个音频专业设备需要的网络连接。

“您开始意识到,哦,我们可以很轻松地从我们的 多轨录音机分享音频,录音机位于音乐系,利用 剧院的音频系统,甚至路由该内容到在室外 天井区的扬声器,”韦博士说。“AVIO 适配器使得 将任何音频设备加入 Dante 网络变得很容易。

韦博士解释说,所有大型表演场地和一些大讲堂 已经安装了雅马哈 TF 系列混频器,和其大多数的 购买时已启用 Dante 的输入设备,因此其最常见的 针对 AVIO 适配器的用途涉及到将笔记本电脑和扬声器连接到 网络;包括天花板内系统或安装的表演级 系统或便携式扬声器系统。

“如果表演组在未接线作为表演区的房间或场地 需要音频支持,我们通常推出启用 Dante 的 雅马哈 TF 系列混频器,将音频通过网络适配器 输入网络及便携式扬声器系统,”韦博士说道。“校园的每个房间 都有网络端口,所以我们在将 TF 系列混频器布置在房间的后部, 将其插入墙上的一个网络端口中。房间的前部 也有一个墙上端口,并且连接于音视频局域网,因此我们在其中插入一个舞台盒 和扬声器。我们不需要运行音频电缆或在房间中上下移动粗重的 电缆,音视频网络使便携式或 临时系统变得简单、干净、快速。

Dante 具有灵活性和潜力

韦博士和 IT 部门监督整个校园所有 网络设施和设备的设计和使用。然而,在他的团队 监督所有学术教学用途的音视频需求时,学校还有 十几个管理生产的其他组,包括 音乐学院团队、体育团体、会议和活动 团队,他们都各自运行自己的活动。

“我们真正的大型系统,例如,我们篮球场上的系统,也都是 启用 Dante 的,”韦博士说。“球场有一对大的 启用 Dante 的 Soundcraft 混音控制台,整个球场建筑的一切都是 Dante 联网的,当然包括主 球场,还包括球场建筑物的所有走廊和 所有的溢出区域。”

Dante 网络甚至接入了学校的护理部门 以支持认证要求,因为该部门必须记录所有 培训课程,以证明学生符合必要的 学时要求。每个护士指导室都通过 网络进行同时多轨记录。

“使用 AVIO 适配器,它们无处不在。我们在教室使用它们, 因为用它们扩展系统很简单,” 韦博士说。"我们可以采用任何音乐系统,并添加一个完整的其他 功能层,只需敲击系统上的适配器。

韦博士说,Dante 具有多功能性,从 Dante Domain Manager 的功能和可观察性到 AVIO 提供的可扩展性和互操作性,允许几乎在校园的任何地方 创造性地大力使用。

韦博士说:“一旦您意识到音频网络的灵活性和潜力,以及 Dante 可以完成什么,就很容易开始找到一长串用途。”


网络研讨会:Dante Doman Manager 高等教育峰会

2019 年 10 月 29 日
太平洋夏令时上午 11:00 时 | 美国东部夏令时下午 2:00 时

了解 Dante Domain Manager 如何在教育机构中的 Dante Domain Manager 的实际用例中提高效率、降低成本和增加音视频网络的正常使用时间。

California Baptist University: Scaling with Dante to Meet a Huge Range of Audio Networking Needs | Audinate | Dante Audio Networking, AV's Leading Technology

California Baptist University: Scaling with Dante to Meet a Huge Range of Audio Networking Needs

California Baptist University, Riverside, CA United States

California Baptist University (CBU) is one of the top private Christian colleges and universities in Southern California. CBU hosts nearly 11,000 students, offering bachelor's, master's and credential programs at its Riverside, San Bernardino campus as well as through online courses. The 160-acre main campus is comprised of more than 30 buildings featuring the 95,000-square-foot Eugene and Billie Yeager Center, the 270-seat Wallace Theater, and the JoAnn Hawkins Music building—one of the nation's most advanced music production and recording facilities.

A wide variety of AV-network-based sound systems at CBU are used to support all types of presentations, including support for school President and VIP presentations, chapel services, sporting events, and of course, music and arts performances.

Because of these critical uses, the school is continuously looking for ways to easily and securely share and manage audio content throughout the campus, and in turn, improve the student experience. For CBU, the AV solutions turned out to be IT based.

AV done the IT way

The CBU IT team recently helped plan and open the new 5,000-seat, 153,000-square-foot Events Center, and – to keep up with the steadily growing campus – also re-worked and updated many of the school's theaters and performance music systems, including most general speaker systems throughout campus.

Joe Way, Ph.D., CTS, Director of Multimedia and Information Technology Services at CBU, explained that the university now has close to 600 total AV spaces across the campus. Way also said, the critical component to success in setting up these spaces, is Dante by Audinate.

Dante is a complete media networking solution and the de facto standard for digital media networking. Dante distributes uncompressed, multi-channel digital media via standard Ethernet networks, with near-zero latency and perfect synchronization. It enables digital audio distribution via standard Ethernet networks — the same networks used for home or office data networking. In fact, Dante is designed to allow audio, control, and all other data to coexist effectively on the same network.

Along with unparalleled audio quality, Dante delivers ultra-low latency and near-perfect synchronization. Dante’s intuitive user interface and network management features enable even the most complex networks to be set up and configured quickly and easily, making system integration simple.

"We had a lot of Dante devices in general because we are a big performance school,” Way said. “But using Dante – and especially Dante Domain Manager – across the campus has really made a big difference."

Dante Domain Manager is network management software that enables user authentication, role-based security, and audit capabilities for Dante networks while allowing seamless expansion of Dante systems over any network infrastructure. Dante Domain Manager organizes a network into zones called "domains" that each have individual access requirements, making it clear and easy to know who can access any area of the system. All activity is logged, tagged, and date-stamped so problems can be quickly identified and solved.
The CBU facility has experienced significant growth over the last few years. The campus has a robust fiber network backbone running between every building and every switch, their longest copper run is no more than 100 feet. The high-quality, high-bandwidth infrastructure allows the team to bring a range of systems online. There is also a real-time audio network between the school's main campus and another facility that's six miles away, with zero issues and zero latency.

Currently, Way and his IT Manager, along with a dozen student workers, manage 115 different nodes with Dante Domain Manager. Even with such a comprehensive network there are still more areas to cover. The team's goal is to bring every AV space and every classroom onto the AV network and use Dante Domain Manager to manage everything possible.

Dante AVIO makes is easy to adapt

Way also utilizes more than 100 Dante AVIO adaptors in the school’s audio system. Available for analog input or output, for AES3 and USB conversion, Dante AVIO Adapters allow users to connect their favorite audio gear with any Dante-connected system — delivering the interoperability, performance, and scalability that only networking can bring. Cost-effective and compact, Dante AVIO adapters deliver the network connectivity that every audio pro needs.

"You start realizing, oh we can easily share audio from our multi-track recorder that's in the music department with the sound system in our theater, and even route that content to speakers outside in the patio area," said Way. "AVIO adaptors make it very easy to bring any audio device up on the Dante network."

Way explained that all large performance venues and some lecture halls have installed Yamaha TF series mixers, and that most of their input devices are purchased as Dante enabled, so their most common uses for the AVIO adaptors involves connecting laptops and loudspeakers to the network; including in-ceiling systems or performance-level installed systems or portable speaker systems.

"If a performance group needs audio support in a room or venue that is not wired as a performance area, we usually roll out a Dante-enabled Yamaha TF Series mixer, take the audio onto our network and to a portable speaker system via network adaptors," said Way. "Every room on campus has network ports, so we role in a TF series mixer in the back of the room, plug it into a network wall port there. The front of the room has a wall port that's on the AV LAN as well, so we plug in a stage box and the speakers there. We don't need to run audio cables or a thick cable snake up and down the room, AV networking makes portable or temporary systems simple, clean, and fast."

Dante powers flexibility and potential

Way and the IT department oversee the design and use of all network installations and equipment for the entire campus. But while his team oversees the AV needs for all academic instruction uses, the school also has about a dozen other groups that manage productions, including the School of Music team, an Athletic group, and a Conference and Events team, who all run their own respective events.

"Our really large systems, like the one in our basketball arena, are all Dante enabled as well," said Way. "The arena has a pair of big Dante-enabled Soundcraft mixing consoles, and everything is Dante networked throughout the entire arena building — in the main arena of course, but also all down the hallways and into all overflow areas of the building."

A Dante network even runs through the school's Nursing department to support accreditation requirements, where the department must record all training sessions to show that students are meeting the necessary hours. Every nurse instruction room is multi-track recorded via the network, simultaneously.

"With the AVIO adapters, they're everywhere. We use them in classrooms because they are such an easy way to extend the system," said Way. "We can take any music system and add a whole other layer of functionality just by knocking an adapter on the system."

Way said the versatility of Dante – from the functionality and observability of Dante Domain Manager to the scalability and interoperability offered by AVIO – allows for creative and powerful uses nearly anywhere on campus.

"Once you get your mind around the flexibility and potential of an audio network and what can be accomplished with Dante, it's easy to start finding a long list of uses," said Way.


WEBINAR: Dante Doman Manager in Higher Education Summit

October 29, 2019
11:00 AM PDT | 2:00 PM EDT

Find out how Dante Domain Manager has increased efficiency, reduced costs and increased uptime of AV networks in real-world use cases of Dante Domain Manager in educational institutions.