Dante Domain Manager 在目标球场大获成功 | Audinate

Dante Domain Manager 在目标球场大获成功

Target Field, Minneapolis, MN United States

新的音频网络管理软件为明尼苏达双城棒球赛提供了可靠、高效和安全的音视频流,为 MLB 球迷带来了新体验

位于明尼阿波利斯市中心的中心,目标球场代表着 明尼苏达州充满活力的城市成熟和户外活力的融合。 这个美国职业棒球大联盟的球场是明尼苏达双城队的主场, 能容纳超过 39,000 名热心的观众,准备为他们的 球队欢呼。虽然设计为棒球场,它也举办橄榄球、 足球,以及各种户外音乐会和各种 非体育类公司活动。

体育场是一个三层看台,设有俱乐部座位, 豪华套房、新闻记者席和百威屋顶天台,配有火 坑、酒吧、城市天际线景观、露天看台座椅和站立室。

体育场的首演观众人数超越了座位的数量。为 给出席者带来难忘的体验,球场的 运营者在寻求能够在所有球场中 提供卓越服务的方法。其中一个关键的方面就是 球场音响,它意味着高品质的音频是 球迷在目标球场体验的重要部分。

杰夫•佩德森,是明尼苏达双城棒球队的首席音频技师, 负责管理和运营所有比赛和特别活动 的音响系统和音频设备。佩德森与帕森斯电气公司(Parsons Electric)的音视频技术经理蒂姆•哈贝丹克密切合作, 管理和升级体育场的 音频系统。

目标球场是一个大型场地,设施周围的多个区域 需要佩德森的音频支持。这可能包括分配音频 到各个区域或将信号返回控制室进行 混音和处理。例如,在比赛前和 和赛间休息期间的现场乐队表演。佩德森必须确保整个体育场都能听到 该音频。

设施有很多不同的子网,先前的所有音频传输都 利用 CobraNet 通过网络进行。 虽然 CobraNet 仍在通过光纤用于在 固定场所,如如放大器室、俱乐部和 新闻采访区之间传输 DSP 音频数据,但该系统已达到了其最大能力, 急需一个新的解决方案。 此外,为提供更好的球迷体验,需要在 需要在最初未计划提供音频支持的 区域加装音响设施。要向这些部分加装音响设施,体育场利用 Dante 和 Domain Manager 进行了扩展。

创建 Dante 网络

佩德森需要一种简单、廉价地扩展至 其主控制台的输入和输出数量的方法,以提供更好的球迷 体验,更好的混音,以及管理和控制系统。他的 搜索将他带到了 Dante。自然的下一步是安装 启用 Dante 的设备,通过扩展 通道数、扩展音频基础架构和减少延迟立即升级系统。

Dante 是一种数字媒体网络技术,允许用户通过 单个以太网电缆提供未压缩的多通道音频。它是 音频网络解决方案的实际标准,与其他网络技术相比, 它被更多的专业音频制造商所采用, 使互操作性变得简单、可靠和真正的现实。利用 Dante 作为 网络解决方案,目标球场的团队可以集成 来自多个制造商的各种音频设备的音频。

Dante 还允许目标球场利用其现有的网络 架构,无需安装额外的基础设施 便可将音频传输到需要去的地方。佩德森添加无线麦克风 接收器、调音台和输入/输出机柜作为 Dante 系统的基础。 在 Dante 之前,佩德森受限于其 CobraNet 系统——该系统已 达到其能力极限。Dante 系统到位后,目标球场现在有 有足够的音频通道可用。

“我们将有一个乐队在体育场的另一边表演, 而连接非常有限,我只有两条音频 线可供使用:一条用于对讲连接,以便我们可以同 在乐队那边的技术人员进行沟通,然后会用一条 音频线路送回次混音信号。”佩德森说。“我们 能够完成该工作,但不夸张地说,这是 一个艰难的过程。我的梦想是用单独的混音通道在我的控制台上 控制我眼前的这一切。我终于得通过在系统中添加 Dante 连接 做到了这一点。”

体育场的音响系统由一个与 多个地点相连的控制室组成。有三个放大器室支持 体育场扬声器系统,以及接收来自 控制室的音频馈给的其他 18 个位置。

“我们首先使用 Dante 将控制室连接到乐队 舞台,仅这一步就带来了从乐队到我的主 控制台的 16 个通道——极大地改善了我们的状况,”佩德森说。“我们现在的计划是 将 Dante 加入我们所有的远程位置,并将所有的控制 和混音并入我们的主控制室。”

佩德森还经常使用便携式音响系统、带数字调音台、放大器和无线连接的小型机柜。

“如果我们需要更多的远程支持,我可以轻松地插入网络电缆 并跳接 Dante 网络到我的控制台,”佩德森说。“现在我们有 很大的灵活性,能够与 在不同区域的不同调音台共享输入和输出。

Dante 系统为体育场提供了无尽的音频可能性,因为 有数以百计的支持 Dante 的产品可用且可互操作。 佩德森现在可以混用任何支持 Dante 的扬声器、放大器、麦克风、 调音台、接收器、转换器等。而且,随着 Dante AVIO 适配器的加入, 体育场可以将旧的原有设备集成到 Dante 系统,增加了 Dante 的互操作性和灵活性。

管理域

有了 Dante 系统,应用 Dante Domain Manager 被证明是 网络的自然下一步,因为它增加了 体育场所需的控制和安全性功能。Dante Domain Manager 是网络管理 软件,它支持 Dante 网络的用户身份验证、基于角色的安全性和 审核功能,同时允许在 任何网络基础设施中无缝扩展 Dante 系统。Dante Domain Manager 允许体育场将许多单独的子网集成到一个 单一、可管理且安全的音频网络。

如果比赛组织者要增加球迷的比赛体验,佩德森和 哈贝丹克需要将音频集成到体育场的 原来未准备提供音频的区域,例如现场乐队表演的区域。 不是增加音频通路和数千美元的布线, 他们将现有数据用于这些新位置,并添加了 Dante 输入/输出盒并将其插入网络。然而,这些新 位置与佩德森的控制室不在同一子网上。利用 一些配置并且在体育场经验丰富的 IT 部门的帮助下,将 Dante Domain Manager 桥接入各类 子网,轻松地将 Dante 音频从新位置传回 控制室。

“在目标球场,他们在壁橱中设置了第 3 层网络, 这 意味着每个壁橱都有自己的子网。体育场对面的控制室 位于与现场乐队 位置不同的子网中,哈贝丹克说。”“Dante Domain Manager 允许我们桥接 这些子网并将 Dante 从体育场的一个角落一路 回到控制室,真正挽救了局面,而且不需要 所有的布线成本。”

在网络层面,Dante Domain Manager 提供了 调整和细分音频网络,而不受 网络的物理限制。管理员可以按照房间、建筑和场地定义特定的音视频设备分组, 以确保体育场的音频在 正确的位置播放。

目标球场在比赛期间与网络电视广播卡车 配合使用。这些组织比赛的公司越来越多地将自己的 Dante 系统连接到体育场的 Dante 系统。Dante Domain Manager 确保了访问和体育场的音频通道都安全、 清晰和明确。

“我们希望保护房屋 Dante 网络,以确保没有人 无意中做出更改,”哈贝丹克说。“没有 Dante Domain Manager,这种保护是不可能的——我们基本对 外部公司开放了整个 Dante 网络。但是,利用 Dante Domain Manager, 我们能够创建这些域。外部公司留在 他们的域中,房屋网络留在其域中,我们可以 根据需要,这两者之间桥接音频。这样,我们仍然可以有很多 功能,并且可以按照需要尽可能多地来回 传递音频通道,但我们也维持了对房屋 Dante 网络的保护。”

Dante Domain Manager 确保了体育场的音频与 他们授予访问者使用的音频分开,并且提供了强大的用户身份验证 和角色分配。利用 Dante Domain Manager,佩德森可以确保 体育场的音频运行平稳,且没有不必要的变更和 修改。

“在 Dante Domain Manager 之前,我想做的绝对是 不可能:成本会令人望而却步,而且花费的用于 修补和运行电缆的时间也不可行,”佩德森说。“现在 我能做的事情之一就是将 16 个声道的音频发送到 体育场的几乎任何一个地方一直到控制室。这是一种很大的解放。”

随着系统变得越来越大和复杂,Dante Domain Manger 控制板可帮助工程师监视设备和用户做出的 更改。控制板提供关键信息 和概览报告、审计跟踪及 SNMP 驱动的警报。此外, Dante Domain Manager 通过其错误记录 功能参与修复问题,该功能显示问题,并提供有关如何修复问题的建议。或者, Dante Domain Manager 提供了一套自动配置工具以 自动修复网络问题。

需要一场近乎完美的音频竞赛

佩德森解释说,虽然他目前被限制于一个 16x16 启用 Dante 的控制台,新控制台已列入升级计划之中,他期待着 扩展通道的可能性。他还想将 Dante 网络扩展到广播卡车。

“在设施音频完全联网后,我想继续推动 使用 Dante 和 Dante Domain Manager——用我们的广播管理音频。 现在,我们向卡车发送一个完整的音频程序,他们返回一个 完整的程序。我们需要到达我们能够只发送选定通道 或次级混音的地方,”佩德森说。“我们总是难以 在卡车与我们的控制室之间来回传输东西,这 几乎需要六个人来做。当卡车可以轻松地从我们的 Dante 音频 网络获取他们需要的直播或录制音频时, 整个过程将变得容易得多。”

无论是音乐会、橄榄球比赛、足球比赛还是职业棒球 大联盟决战,Dante 和 Dante Domain Manager 为超过 39,000 名观众 提供近乎完美的,接近零延迟的音频。目标球场 在提供带球迷去观看球赛所需的现场声音、录制和广播音频表演时, 如果管理员知道其网络安全且 高效,就会放心。

相关产品

None

Dante Domain Manager Hits a Home Run at Target Field

Target Field, Minneapolis, MN United States

New audio network management software adds to MLB fan experience with reliable, efficient and secure AV streams for Minnesota Twins baseball games

Sitting in the heart of downtown Minneapolis, Target Field represents Minnesota’s dynamic blend of urban sophistication and outdoor vitality. This Major League Baseball stadium is home to the Minnesota Twins and accommodates more than 39,000 eager spectators ready to cheer on their team. Though designed as a baseball venue, it also hosts football, soccer, and a wide range of outdoor concerts and various non-sports-based corporate events.

The stadium is a three-tier grandstand that features club seats, luxury suites, a press box and the Budweiser Roof Deck featuring a fire pit, bar, city skyline view, bleacher seats and standing room.

The stadium’s premiere offerings extend beyond the seats as well. To give those in attendance a truly incredible experience, the facility’s business operations looked for ways it could deliver excellence across all ballpark offerings. One area where this was critical was the ballpark sound, which means high-quality audio is a major part of the fan experience at Target Field.

Jeff Pedersen, Lead Audio Technician, Minnesota Twins Baseball, manages and operates the sound systems and audio equipment for all games and special events. Pedersen works closely with Tim Habedank, AV Technical Manager, Parsons Electric, to manage and upgrade the stadium’s audio system.

Target Field is a large venue and multiple areas around the facility require Pedersen’s audio support. This can include distributing audio out to various areas or pulling signals back to the control room for mixing and processing. For example, live bands perform before ball games and during breaks. Pedersen must be sure this audio is heard throughout the stadium.

There are many different subnets in the facility and all audio transport was previously occurring over the network using CobraNet. While the CobraNet system is still in place to transport DSP audio data over fiber to and from fixed locations, such as amp rooms, clubs and press areas, the system reached its maximum capability and a new solution was needed. Additionally, demand for a better fan experience required adding audio in areas that were not originally planned for audio support. To add audio to these sections, the stadium expanded with Dante and Dante Domain Manager.

Creating a Dante Network

Pedersen needed a way to easily and inexpensively expand the number of inputs and outputs to his main console to provide a better fan experience, a better mix, and manage and control the total system. His search led him to Dante. The natural next step was to install Dante-enabled equipment, immediately upgrading the system by expanding channel counts, expanding audio infrastructure and reducing latency.

Dante is a digital media networking technology allowing users send uncompressed, multi-channel audio over a single Ethernet cable. It is the de facto standard audio networking solution, and has been adopted by more pro-audio AV manufacturers than any other networking technology, making interoperability easy, reliable and a true reality. With Dante as the networking solution, the team at Target Field can integrate audio from a wide range of audio devices from multi-vendor manufacturers.

Dante also allows Target Field to tap into the existing networking structure of the field, without having to install extra infrastructure to get audio where it needs to go. Pedersen added wireless microphone receivers, mixers and input/output racks as a base for his Dante system. Prior to Dante, Pedersen was limited by its CobraNet system – it was simply maxed out. With a Dante system in place, Target Field now has more than enough audio channels available.

"We would have a band performing on the other side of the stadium, and there was very limited connectivity, so I could only get two audio lines to use: one for an intercom connection so we could communicate with our technician located with the band, who would then send me a sub-mixed signal back on the other audio line," said Pedersen. "We were able to get the job done, but it was a difficult process to say the least. My dream was to have control of all of this in front of me on my console, with separate channels for mixing. I finally got to do this by adding Dante connectivity into the system."

The stadium's audio system consists of a control room tied to multiple locations. There are three amplifier rooms supporting the stadium speaker system, as well as 18 other locations that receive audio feeds from the control room.

"We started by using Dante to connect the control room to the band stage, and this step alone brought 16 channels from the band to my main console – a huge improvement for us," said Pedersen. "Our plan now is to get Dante into all of our remote locations and bring all the control and mixing to our main control room."

Pedersen also frequently uses a portable sound system, a small rack with a digital mixer, amplifiers and wireless connectivity.

"If we need more remote support, I can easily plug in a network cable and jump on the Dante network to my console," said Pedersen. “There's a lot of flexibility now in being able to share inputs and outputs with different mixers in different areas."

A Dante system allows endless audio possibilities for the stadium, as hundreds of Dante-enabled products are available and interoperable. Pedersen can now mix any Dante-enabled speaker, amplifier, microphone, mixer, receiver, converter and more. And, with the addition of Dante AVIO Adapters, the stadium can integrate older, legacy gear into Dante systems, adding to Dante’s interoperability and flexibility.

Managing the Domains

With a Dante system in place, Dante Domain Manager proved to be a natural next step to the network, as it added the control and security features the stadium desired. Dante Domain Manager is network management software that enables user authentication, role-based security and audit capabilities for Dante networks, while allowing seamless expansion of Dante systems over any network infrastructure. Dante Domain Manager allowed the stadium to integrate the many separate subnets into a single, manageable and secure audio network.

For game producers to add to the fans’ game experience, Pedersen and Habedank needed to integrate audio into areas of the stadium that were not originally designed for audio, such as where the live band plays. Instead of adding an audio pathway and thousands of dollars of cabling, they used an existing data drop at these new locations, adding a Dante input/output box and plugging it into the network. However, these new locations were not on the same subnet as Pedersen’s control room. With some configuration and help from the stadium’s experienced IT department, Dante Domain Manager stepped in to bridge the various subnets, easily passing Dante audio from the new locations back to the control room.

"At Target Field, they have a Layer 3 network at the closet, so that means every closet has its own subnet. The control room on the opposite side of the stadium was in a different subnet than the live band location," said Habedank. "Dante Domain Manager allows us to bridge these subnets and pass Dante from one corner of the stadium all the way back to the control room and really save the day without all of that cost of cabling."

On the network level, Dante Domain Manager provides the ability to scale and segment audio networks, regardless of the physical constraints of the network. Administrators can define specific AV device groupings, by room, building and site, ensuring the stadium’s audio is playing in the correct location.

Target Field works with network television broadcast trucks during games. More and more, these production companies bring their own Dante systems to connect into the stadium’s Dante system. Dante Domain Manager ensures both the visiting and stadium’s audio channels are secure, crisp and clear.

“We want to protect the house Dante network to make sure that no one inadvertently makes changes,” said Habedank. “Without Dante Domain Manager, that protection is not possible – we essentially open up our whole Dante network to outside companies. But, with Dante Domain Manager, we’re able to create those domains. Outside companies stay in their domain, the house network stays in its domain, and we can bridge the audio between those two as needed. That way we can still have a lot of functionality and can pass as many audio channels back and forth as we want, but we also maintain that protection of the house Dante network.”

Dante Domain Manager ensures the stadium’s audio is separate from the audio they grant the visitors to use, with robust user authentication and role assignment. With Dante Domain Manager, Pedersen can be sure the stadium’s audio runs smoothly and is free of unwanted changes and modifications.

“Before Dante Domain Manager, what I wanted to do was not really possible: the cost would have been prohibitive and the time spent patching and running cables wasn’t feasible,” said Pedersen. “One of the things I can do now is send 16 channels of audio to almost any place in the stadium up to the control room. It is very liberating.”

As the system becomes larger and more complex, the Dante Domain Manger dashboard helps engineers keep tabs on devices and user-made changes. The dashboard provides the critical information with at-a-glance reports, audit trails and SNMP-driven alerts. Additionally, Dante Domain Manager steps in to fix problems with its error logging feature that shows an issue and offers suggestions on how to fix it. Or, Dante Domain Manager provides a suite of auto-configuration tools to fix network issues automatically.

A Near-Perfect Audio Game Required

Pedersen explained that while he is currently limited to a 16x16 Dante-enabled console, a new console is in the upgrade plan and he looks forward to expanded channel possibilities.  He also wants to extend the Dante network to the broadcast trucks.

"After our facility audio is completely networked, I want to move toward Dante and Dante Domain Manager-managed audio with our broadcast. Right now, we send the trucks a full audio program, and they return a full program. We need to get to where we can send just selected channels or sub mixes," said Pedersen. "We've always had difficulty transferring things back and forth from the trucks to our control room, and it almost takes six people to do it. This whole process will be much easier when the trucks can simply pull either the live or recorded audio of what they need from our Dante audio network."

Whether it is a concert, football game, soccer game or Major League Baseball showdown, Dante and Dante Domain Manager deliver near-perfect, near-zero latency audio to the more than 39,000 spectators. Target Field administrators can rest easy knowing its network is secure and efficient while delivering the live sound, recorded and broadcast audio performances required to take fans out to the ballgame.

Related Products

None