网络和交换机 | Audinate

网络和交换机

IT 人群的 Dante 入门

我可以将 Dante 设备直接连接到计算机吗?

可以。 只需使用 Cat5e 或 Cat 6 以太网电缆将启用 Dante 的设备连接到以太网交换机,然后将计算机连接到同一交换机即可。 如果只有一台启用 Dante 的设备连接到计算机,则可以省去该交换机,而只需用 Cat5e 或 Cat6 以太网电缆将两者连接即可。

建议 Dante 使用哪种类型的以太网电缆?

由于大多数 Dante 设备都支持千兆以太网,因此建议使用 Cat5e 或 Cat6 电缆。 对于纯粹的 100 Mbps 网络,可以使用 CAT5。

Dante 是否可以使用光纤网络电缆?

可以。 由于 Dante 使用基于网络技术的标准,因此使用光纤非常简单。 使用支持光纤连接的交换机通过光缆发送 Dante 数据。 以太网不是基于铜缆或光纤的,它独立于布线介质。 许多组织已经在其它项目中使用了光纤,因此在 Dante 网络上的重复使用即可。

是否可以在启用 Dante 的设备之间建立直接连接?

可以。 使用 Dante Controller 建立路由后,两个 Dante 设备的简单网络将以独立方式工作。

Dante 设备可以“菊链”连接吗?

在大多数情况下,答案是“不可以”。 Dante 设备通过网络交换机连接,这通常是指“星形”拓扑,也就是所有设备都连接到一个单一中心点,从而最大程度地减少了数据必须通过的“跳”数。 这也避免了一个设备发生故障而导致整个“菊链”中断的情况。 注意: 在某些 Dante 设备上附带的副端口不能用于菊链连接——仅可用于 Dante 冗余。

Dante 可以通过 Wi-Fi 网络工作吗?

不可以。 虽然原则上可能,但当前无线技术 (802.11a/b/g/n) 的实际局限性导致无法实现可靠的性能。 因此,Dante 软件(例如 Virtual Soundcard)将无法识别音频数据的无线连接。

Dante 是否需要任何特殊的网络基础设施?

不,不需要特殊的网络基础设施。 由于 Dante 基于公认的网络标准,因此可以使用廉价的现成以太网交换机和电缆连接启用 Dante 的设备。

Dante 是否需要专用的网络基础设施?

不,不需要专用的网络基础设施。 启用 Dante 的设备可以与使用网络的其它设备愉快地共存,例如发送和接收电子邮件和其它数据的通用电脑。

可以在同一网络上进行控制和音频传输吗?

可以,音频可以与控制信息甚至无关的数据流量通过同一网络发送。

Dante 是否需要特殊的交换机?

不需要。 我们强烈建议使用千兆交换机,因为它在性能和可扩展性方面具有明显的优势。 阅读其它的网络和交换机常见问题解答以获取建议和要求。

Dante 网络中交换机的最低要求是什么?

所有以太网交换机都适用于 Dante。 但是,请注意,某些类型的交换机上有一些功能,您可以利用这些功能构建更大、更可靠的 Dante 网络。 虽然建议使用千兆交换机,但在有限的情况下可以使用 100 Mbps 的交换机。
  • 对于 32 通道或更多通道的情况,千兆交换机必不可少。  在拥有 100 Mbps 设备的网络中使用 Dante 时,需要 QoS。  网络上的千兆交换机若与 Dante 以外的其它服务共享数据,也建议使用 QoS。
  • 对于通道数较低 (<32) 的应用,可以使用 100 Mbps 交换机,只要它支持适当的 QoS,并且 QoS 处于活动状态。 不建议也不支持使用没有 QoS 的 100 Mbps 交换机。

购买交换机时,哪些功能很重要?

Dante 利用标准的网络语音 (VoIP) 服务质量 (QoS) 交换机功能,将时钟同步和音频流量优先于其它网络流量。 各种低价的以太网交换机和企业级以太网交换机均提供 VoIP QoS 功能。 所有具有以下功能的交换机均应适合用于 Dante:
  • 用于交换机间连接的千兆端口
  • 具有 4 个队列的服务质量 (QoS)
  • 严格优先级的 Diffserv (DSCP) QoS
  • 还建议使用托管交换机,以提供有关每个网络链路操作的详细信息:端口速度、错误计数器,使用的带宽等。

我可以在 Dante 网络中使用带有 EEE(节能以太网或“绿色以太网”)标识的交换机吗?

简略回答:不可以。 EEE(节能以太网)是一项在网络流量较低时减少交换机功耗的技术。 有时也称为“绿色以太网”和 IEEE802.3az。 尽管在支持 EEE 的交换机中应该自动处置电源管理,但该技术是一项相对较新的技术,某些交换机无法适当地执行该处置。 如果不合适,这可能会导致在 Dante 网络中启用 EEE,从而导致同步性能不佳和偶发性信号丢失。 下载 带有节能以太网的不兼容、非托管交换机列表因此,我们强烈建议:
  1. 如果使用管理型交换机,请确保它们允许禁用 EEE。 确保在用于实时 Dante 流量的所有端口上禁用 EEE。
  2. 如果使用非管理型交换机,请不要使用支持 EEE 功能的以太网交换机,因为您不能在这些交换机中禁用 EEE 操作。

什么是服务质量 (QoS)?

服务质量 (QoS) 是托管交换机的一项功能,可确保某些类型的网络数据包(例如时钟同步和音频数据包)得到优先处理,并在其它流量之前“移到线路的最前端”。 这是通过在每个数据包上附加一个优先级编号来实现的,交换机随后使用该优先级编号来确保高优先级数据包先于较低优先级数据包得到处理。

我何时需要在 Dante 网络中使用 QoS?

在具有 100 Mbps 设备的网络中使用 Dante 时,QoS 是必需的;在具有千兆位设备的网络中,QoS 是可选的。 我们建议在所有 Dante 网络中启用 QoS,以确保在所有可能的条件下都能正常运行。

Dante 如何管理 QoS?

Dante 使用标准的网络语音 (VoIP) 服务质量 (QoS) 交换功能来将时钟同步和音频流量置于其它网络流量之上。 许多低价的以太网交换机和企业级以太网交换机都拥有 QoS 功能。 任何具有严格优先级和 4 个队列的支持 Diffserv (DSCP) QoS 并具有用于交换机间连接的千兆位端口的交换机,都应适用于 Dante。

Dante 在配置 QoS 时如何使用 DSCP/Diffserv 优先级值?

交换机会使用所谓的 DSCP/Diffserv 值对数据包进行优先级排序。 尽管已选择 Dante 数据包优先级值以简化与许多交换机的 QoS 配置,但某些交换机仍需要进行特殊配置以识别特定 DSCP 值并确定其优先级。 下表显示了 Dante 如何使用各种 Diffserv 代码点 (DSCP) 数据包优先级值:
优先级 用法 DSCP 标签 十六进制 十进制 十进制
时间关键的 PTP 事件 CS7 0x38 56 111000
音频,PTP EF 0x2E 46 101110
(预留) CS1 0x08 8 001000
其它流量 最佳努力 0x00 0 000000

Networks and Switches

Dante Basics for the IT crowd

Can I connect a Dante device directly to my computer?

Yes. Simply connect your Dante enabled devices to an Ethernet switch, using Cat5e or Cat 6 Ethernet cable, and then connect your computer to the same switch. If you have only one Dante-enabled device to connect to your computer, you may eliminate the switch and simply connect the two with a Cat5e or Cat6 Ethernet cable.

What type of Ethernet cable is recommended for Dante?

As most Dante devices support gigabit Ethernet, Cat5e or Cat6 cable is recommended. For purely 100Mbps networks, CAT5 may be used.

Does Dante work with Fiber Optic network cable?

Yes. Because Dante works with standards based networking technology, using fiber is simple. Use a switch that supports fiber connections to send Dante data over a fiber optic cable. Ethernet is not copper or fiber based, it is independent of the cabling medium. Many organizations will have fiber already in place from other projects and this can simply be re-used on a Dante network.

Is it possible to make direct connections between Dante-enabled equipment?

Yes. Once routes are established with Dante Controller, a simple network of two Dante devices will work in a stand-alone fashion.

Can Dante devices be daisy chained?

In most cases the answer is “no”. Dante devices are connected via a network switch, which most often means a “star” topology – all devices are connected to a single central point, which minimizes the number of “hops” through which data must pass. This also avoids the scenario in which the failure of one device causes the entire “daisy chain” to break. Note:  the Secondary Port found on some Dante devices is NOT to be used for daisy chaining – this is for Dante Redundancy only.

Can Dante operate over a Wi-Fi network?

No. While possible in principle, the practical limitations of current wireless technology (802.11a/b/g/n) render reliable performance unachievable. For this reason Dante software such as Virtual Soundcard will not recognize wireless connections for audio data.

Does Dante require any special network infrastructure?

No, special network infrastructure is not required. Since Dante is based upon universally accepted networking standards, Dante-enabled devices can be connected using inexpensive off-the-shelf Ethernet switches and cabling.

Does Dante require a dedicated network infrastructure?

No, a dedicated network infrastructure is not required. Dante-enabled devices can happily coexist with other equipment making use of the network, such as general purpose PCs sending and receiving email and other data.

Can you mix control and audio on the same network?

Yes, the audio can be sent over the same network as control information, and even unrelated data traffic.

Does Dante require special switches?

No. We strongly recommend that Gigabit switches be used due to the clear advantages in performance and scalability. Read other Networks and Switches FAQs for suggestions and requirements.

What is the minimum requirement for switches in a Dante network?

All Ethernet switches are capable of working with Dante. However, please be aware that there are some features on some kinds of switches that will allow you to build larger and more reliable Dante networks. While Gigabit switches are recommended, 100Mbps switches may be used in limited scenarios.
  • For channel counts of 32 or more, Gigabit switches are essential.  QoS is required when using Dante in networks that have 100Mbps devices.  QoS is also recommended for Gigabit switches on networks that share data with services other than Dante.
  • For lower channel count (<32) applications, a 100Mbps switch may be used as long as it supports proper QoS, and QoS is active. The use of 100Mbps switches without QoS is not recommended or supported.

What features are important when purchasing a switch?

Dante makes use of standard Voice over IP (VoIP) Quality of Service (QoS) switch features, to prioritize clock sync and audio traffic over other network traffic. VoIP QoS features are available in a variety of inexpensive and enterprise Ethernet switches. Any switches with the following features should be appropriate for use with Dante:
  • Gigabit ports for inter-switch connections
  • Quality of Service (QoS) with 4 queues
  • Diffserv (DSCP) QoS, with strict priority
  • A managed switch is also recommended, to provide detailed information about the operation of each network link: port speed, error counters, bandwidth used, etc.

Can I use switches with EEE (Energy Efficient Ethernet or 'Green Ethernet') in my Dante network?

Short answer: no. EEE (Energy Efficient Ethernet) is a technology that reduces switch power consumption during periods of low network traffic. It is also sometimes known as Green Ethernet andIEEE802.3az. Although power management should be negotiated automatically in switches that support EEE, it is a relatively new technology, and some switches do not perform the negotiation properly. This may cause EEE to be enabled in Dante networks when it is not appropriate, resulting in poor synchronisation performance and occasional dropouts. Download list of incompatible, unmanaged switches with Energy Efficient Ethernet Therefore we strongly recommend that:
  1. If you use managed switches, ensure that they allow EEE to be disabled. Make sure that EEE is disabled on all ports used for real-time Dante traffic.
  2. If you use unmanaged switches, do not use Ethernet switches that support the EEE function, because you cannot disable EEE operation in these switches.

What is Quality of Service (QoS)?

Quality of Service (QoS) is a feature of managed switches, which ensures that certain types of network packets (e.g. clock sync and audio packets) get preferential treatment and are "moved to the front of the line" ahead of other traffic. This is achieved by attaching a priority number to each packet, which is then used by the switches to ensure that high priority packets get processed before lower priority packets.

When do I need to use QoS in a Dante network?

QoS is required when using Dante in networks that have 100Mbps devices and is optional in networks with Gigabit devices. We recommend that QoS be enabled in all Dante networks in order to ensure proper operation under all possible conditions.

How does Dante manage QoS?

Dante uses standard Voice over IP (VoIP) Quality of Service (QoS) switch features to prioritize clock sync and audio traffic over other network traffic. QoS is available in many inexpensive and enterprise Ethernet switches. Any switch that supports Diffserv (DSCP) QoS with strict priority and 4 queues, and has Gigabit ports for inter-switch connections should be appropriate for use with Dante.

How does Dante use DSCP / Diffserv priority values when configuring QoS?

Switches prioritize packets using what are called DSCP/Diffserv values. Although Dante packet priority values have been chosen to make it simple to configure QoS with many switches, some switches require special configuration to recognize and prioritize specific DSCP values. The table below shows how Dante uses various Diffserv Code Points (DSCP) packet priority values:
Priority Usage DSCP Label Hex Decimal Decimal
High Time critical PTP events CS7 0x38 56 111000
Medium Audio, PTP EF 0x2E 46 101110
Low (reserved) CS1 0x08 8 001000
None Other traffic BestEffort 0x00 0 000000